Key Lime Pie is good.

Let me tell you something only sort-of related to this Key Lime Pie. My mom’s best friend reads this here blog, and she forwards it to her boss (Thanks for the props, Robin!) Well, her boss asks her after reading for a few weeks, “Does this girl ever make anything healthy?” The foot-shuffling, guilt-ridden answer is ‘sometimes’. The truthful answer is ‘not very often’. But, as fate would have it, today I read this beautiful quote in one of my cookbooks that helps me to justify my not-so-healthy, but really-quite-tasty method of cooking; It goes like this: “Comfort food is a secret but articulate language. It’s deepest expression is a wordless and foolproof way of letting our families know the profound depth of our love for them.” -Pat Conroy.

Now, isn’t that true. Poached chicken breast with a side of steamed broccoli doesn’t exactly get ’em running to the table, does it? And for those of us that identify with that reference, that’s really what it is all about for us – magical, precious, quality time. I rarely even scrambled an egg before I got married. But, I fell in love with a boy who (doesn’t look like it, but) loves to eat! I love him enough to make pineapple-upside-down cake in a cast iron skillet (I hate pineapple-upside-down cake – cast iron skillet or not!) I love him enough to put Tabasco in gravy (ugch!). I love him enough to make Key Lime Pie. Well, actually, I like Key Lime Pie, too, so maybe that wasn’t such a big sacrifice. But, my point is; We cook for the people we love. We cook to please them. We cook to bring everyone together at a table to share time with them. And, so maybe we have to go workout at the gym every stinking morning to balance out all this labor-of-love cooking we are doing, but it’s worth it. It is so, so worth it.

Jim (Robin’s boss), if you’re reading this, I promise to post this really great recipe for Pork Medallions with Balsamic Cherry Sauce… it’s has very little fat, but a whole lot of flavor. I know your heart appreciates your healthy effort! Keep up the good work!

Key Lime Pie

for the crust:

1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs

1/3 cup sugar

4 Tbs. butter, melted

for the filling:

2 cans sweetened condensed milk

1 cup key lime juice

2 whole eggs

for the topping:

1 cup sour cream, use low-fat if you want : )

1/3 cup powdered sugar

Mix graham cracker crumbs, sugar, & butter. Press into a deep 9″ pie plate. Bake @ 375° for 10 minutes to set.

Combine sweetened condensed milk, lime juice, and eggs in a large bowl. Pour into prepared graham cracker crust. Bake @ 375° for 15 minutes. Center of pie will be slightly jiggly. Set aside to cool.

Combine sour cream & powdered sugar. Spread evenly over top of the pie. Refrigerate at least 2 hours before serving.

This is all I have to say about this pie:

One Response to “Key Lime Pie is good.”

  1. Heather Skinner Says:

    dont listen to mom! keep them good recipes coming!! this pie sounds delicious and easy although the pork with cherry sauce sounds awesome!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

