Grilled Gouda

I realize this is my second post on grilled cheese. Ironically, I hated grilled cheese as a kid. This is a new thing I’m discovering, so please, bear with me. As a grown-up I realized it was the American cheese that was throwing me off. I love bread. I love cheese. It just makes sense. Grilled cheese. Man, it’s a beautiful thing.

Grilled Gouda with Honey

2 slices multi-grain sandwich bread

several thick slices smoked gouda cheese

olive oil

honey

Cut enough gouda cheese to fit bread. Assemble sandwich.

Warm olive oil in heavy-bottomed skillet or griddle over medium low heat.

Toast both sides of sandwich until golden & cheese is melty.

Serve with honey to drizzle over sandwich.

* Domino magazine featured an inspiring Buffet-Style Grilled Cheese Party article a few years back.

They made these suggestions:

Cheddar Cheese on Pumpernickel with Mango Chutney

Fresh Smoked Mozzarella, Basil, & Prosciutto on Farmhouse White Bread

Brie on a Croissant with Granny Smith Apples

Blue Cheese, with Walnuts & Honey on Whole Wheat Bread

Serve with wine or juice and a big pot of creamy soup. Ummmmm!

Leave a Reply

