Onion Soup

Onion Soup: I think of broth with a few onions swimming around. Well, this is onion soup; rethought. This little soup is fully equipped. It’s thick, rich, & wonderfully tasty; all crowned with a cheesy crouton. You’ve got to try it.

I was under the weather this weekend. (Blah!)  The remote got lost somewhere in the cushions while couch-bound and I got stuck on ‘planet green’ channel for 3 hours. I learned how to power my whole house from a stream. (Unfortunately, I have no stream. Otherwise, I’d be back there harnessing the power of effluxion this morning instead of writing this post. Are you laughing? I would!) And, on a much more practical note, I watched Emeril Lagasse make an amazing looking onion soup in Whole Foods Market. (I know. He’s never been at Whole Foods when I go, either. I’d stir the pot for Emeril.) It sparked my interest, but I had finally gotten comfortable and couldn’t talk myself into getting up to rummage through the junk drawer to find a pen and write down the recipe, so I just winged it. Apparently I remembered something from my medicine-head-haze, because this soup was delicious!

Oh, and Emeril’s ‘good to know’ lesson for this episode was this: ‘a thickening agent (in this case, flour) will not come to it’s full thickening power until boiled’.

Bam!

(Not Your Mama’s) Onion Soup

3 large onions, sliced (I used 1 sweet Vidalia, 1 red, & 1 white)

2 cloves garlic

2 Tbs. olive oil

1 bunch fresh thyme, tie bundle together (2 tsp. dried)

black pepper & kosher salt to taste

1/4 cup flour

1 bunch green onions, dice white & green parts

6 cups broth/stock (I used half chicken, half beef)

Parmesan Garlic Toasts, recipe follows

Heat olive oil in a large dutch oven or heavy bottomed soup pan on medium high heat. Toss in sliced onions & garlic cloves. Saute for 7-10 minutes until translucent. Reduce heat to medium low and allow onions to caramelize (the natural sugars are slowly released) 45-50 minutes. Toss in green onions and allow to cook until soft; 2-3 minutes.

Add flour to onions. Cook 2-3 minutes to toast flour, then pour in broth/stock. Stirring constantly, bring to a slow rolling boil. Reduce heat and simmer 15 minutes longer to incorporate flavors. (If using fresh thyme, remove at this point. If using dried, continue to next step.) With an immersion blender, pulse soup several times for a creamier consistency; this step is optional. Serve with Parmesan Garlic Toasts.

Parmesan Garlic Toasts

1 french/italian loaf, sliced thin

Olive oil

1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese

1 Tbs. garlic, minced.

Arrange sliced bread on a baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil. Top each toast with minced garlic and parmesan cheese.

Toast under broiler until golden & fragrant.

One Response to “Onion Soup”

  1. Janet Says:

    I am definitely going to try this! You are a woman after mine own heart because I dearly love to cook!

Leave a Reply

