Homemade Bouillon

I first read about this Homemade Bouillon at 101Cookbooks.com. As a girl who makes lots of soups and would have stock on tap if her husband would hook it up for her, it immediately captured my attention. It seems that just as soon as I’ve made a stock, I find I am out again. A bouillon that is homemade, freezer-friendly, with all natural ingredients; made without the hydrogenated fats, MSG, or maltrodextrincaphootiehoots (like store-bought bouillon) sounds like something I could really get into! So, I jumped right in and tried it.

If the words, all-natural, freezer-friendly, and trans-fat-free didn’t reel you, maybe this will: you can just use whatever veggies you have in your fridge! Exactly like a stock! However, there is no cooking involved. (Homemade stocks simmer for at least 4 hours!) If you’ve got all afternoon and want a chicken stock here is a recipe. All you need is a big food processor and salt – for curing. Then you store it in a large jar and use it right out of the freezer. It will stay fresh for months. It is vegetable flavored. I added lots of mushrooms and garlic for a deeper, earthier flavor. I threw some in a pot of chili I was making today and it was super flavorful. Here is how I made mine:

Homemade Bouillon

This recipe makes about 8 cups bouillon/concentrate. Add 1 teaspoon to 1 cup boiling water. Store in the freezer.

2 leeks, rinsed well & chopped

4 carrots, chopped

2 celery ribs, chopped

1 large onion, quartered

1 lb. cremini mushrooms

4 garlic cloves

1 bunch parsley

1 bunch thyme

1 tsp fresh ground black pepper

1/2 cup kosher salt

Coarsely chop all ingredients.

Add a few ingredients at a time to a large (8 cup) food processor. Pulse several times between each addition.

Transfer to jars and store in the freezer.

Dissolve 1 tsp. with 1 cup of boiling water for 1 cup of flavorful vegetable broth.

2 Responses to “Homemade Bouillon”

  1. Frances Says:

    Thanks for sharing. That sounds delish! I don’t use a lot of veggie broth but I looked at your chicken stock and I see that it can keep in the freezer as well. Would I be able to freeze it and use like bouillon?

    • autumnkeeton Says:

      Yep, you can freeze stock, (but will have to thaw out before using). Stays in freezer for up to 4 months. I think of bouillon as more of a concentrated broth. You have to add water to bouillon, but not stock. I’ve noticed a lot of folks reduce/concentrate their stocks, (maybe 6-7 hours on the stovetop) freeze it in ice cube trays, and then thaw & add water. That method would be a freezer space saver. Thanks for reading!!

Leave a Reply

