(Fresh) Pineapple, Pear, & Ginger Juice

One recent sunny, peaceful, morning, I was in the kitchen making a pie for Sunday dinner when my husband, Jasper, turns on the television. Just turns on the television and walks out of the house. You have men in your life, you understand, right?

So, I am making this pie and forced to listen to snippets of what sounds like some obnoxious info-mercial (and my hands are elbow-deep in pie crust). I am full on annoyed. It’s that jumpsuit-wearin’ Jack LaLanne and his Power Juicer. I strip all the flour from my hands & arms, walk into the living room to turn the thing off and something catches my interest. 140-year-old Jack is touting all the benefits of juicing, and I start considering his pitch. Do I get enough fruits & vegetables? No. Am I concerned about health, nutrition, and aging? Yes. Do I care about all the glass & plastic that’s being thrown in landfills from juice containers? Yes. Do I believe in a whole foods diet? Yes. Did I know that fruit & vegetable juice is one of the most perishable foods, therefore tons of preservatives are added which degrade vitamins & minerals ? No, not really. (Am feeling somewhat like Kate Gosselin answering my own questions? Yes.)

So I wait for him to disclose the price. I am thinking $39.99? Maybe $49.99 with a free ShamWow thrown in? I’ve got my phone ready to dial. I’ve made the decision to try it. That sneaky Jack got me all pumped up and then dropped the bomb…The thing is $149.99!! For a juicer! That, let’s be honest here, I might only use once. Twice, maybe. I put the phone down, turned the tv off, and went back to my pie crust.

But it really did sound like a good idea. I don’t eat enough fruit. It would be easy to just throw back some juice. So I went to the store, bought lots of yummy looking fruit (that usually just spoils in my refrigerator drawer) and crossed my fingers that my food processor would be up for the task. I just pulsed until the world looked level and then strained the pulp through a fine-mesh sieve. It worked fairly well.  It was so fresh and sweet and yummy. And this sounds silly, but I felt really good about it. I felt as if I had eaten pears and pineapples and ginger for breakfast. And, really, I suppose I did. Good for me!

I made some again this morning! I am feeling healthier, younger, and greener already! I might just splurge on old Jackie’s power juicer after all. (Jack promised his would produce 30% more juice, and I don’t take him as a liar.) I’ll keep you posted.

(Fresh) Pineapple, Pear, & Ginger Juice

2 pears, peeled, deseeded, & cubed

1/2 fresh pineapple, peeled & cubed

1 cut of ginger root, about the thickness of a coin

Combine & Pulse all ingredients in a food processor (or a juicer, if you’ve already succumbed to the info-mercial yourself.) Strain through a fine mesh sieve. Enjoy!

Other juice combinations:


Blueberry, Strawberry, & Apricot

Papaya, Lime, & Orange

Honeydew, Apple, & Mint

Tomato, Celery, & Lemon

Tomato, Carrot, Cucumber

*I understand that, when juicing, the juice starts oxidizing quickly, loosing the essential vitamins & minerals you are going to all that stinking trouble for. So just juice as much fruit as you’ll drink that day. Store any unused juice in a glass, air-tight container in the fridge. I’m no expert… It’s just what Jack says.

One Response to “(Fresh) Pineapple, Pear, & Ginger Juice”

  1. Buttermilk Molasses Bran Muffins « The Grateful Spread Says:

    […] warm and serve with homemade whipped butter and they will love you forever. Make ‘em some fresh juice and you are guaranteed a raise by the weekend! (I am in no way responsible for the way this […]

Leave a Reply

