Rosemary & Lemon Roasted Chicken

There’s just something about summer that makes me want to eat fresher, more locally grown food. Maybe its working my own garden. It offers you a chance to realize how hard farmers must work and build up some gratitude and appreciation for their labor. It’s quite a beautiful, wholesome thing, growing vegetables and herbs from seed. You prepare the soil, press in some seeds, and before you know it, there is a plant growing that will feed you and your family for a whole season. Just walk out and pick (literally) what you’d like to cook up for dinner. There is nothing better than super fresh, juicy fruits, vine ripened vegetables, and snipped bundles of herbs. It’s miraculous really.

A couple of years ago I purchased a rosemary topiary for a Christmas decoration. I threw it in the ground after boxing up my decorations. I am ashamed to say I didn’t think about the poor thing until spring. It somehow survived the winter without any care or attention. It has now more than quadrupled in size and taken over a whole flower bed!  It was a lazy, lucky, afterthought, but I’ve grown to love my rosemary bush! I go out, snip a few sprigs, put it in butter for steaks, I sprinkle some on dinner rolls, and tonight I chopped some and roasted it with chicken. It has the most wonderful smell and amazing flavor. It’s deep, earthy, and rich, but not  overpowering. It’s one of my favorite herbs!

Rosemary & Lemon Roasted Chicken


2 chicken thighs (or breasts)

2 sprigs rosemary, chopped

1 lemon, sliced

2 cloves garlic, peeled and smashed

1 onion, sliced

2 Tbs. white wine

salt & pepper

Place chicken in a shallow baking dish. Season with salt & pepper. Sprinkle rosemary generously over chicken. Arrange sliced lemon, onion, and garlic around chicken. Pour wine into dish.

Bake for 45 minutes in 350° oven until chicken is browned and cooked throughout.

Leave a Reply

