Enchilada Dish

Enchilada Dish is my MaMa’s recipe (MaMa is my maternal grandmother). I have been gobbling this stuff up my entire life, and still have not tired of it. It’s simple, easy, pantry friendly and a weeknight staple for me and my entire extended family. I can throw this together with my eyes closed and know the ingredients by heart. I was delighted to see my MaMa make it in her kitchen recently. Whereas I can have this ready for the oven (to melt the gooey cheese) in 10 minutes flat, I was absolutely enchanted watching her leisurely sitting on her little kitchen stool, taking great care to cut the onion in tiny little pieces, ring by ring. Unhurriedly hand-grating the cheese. She’s not lured in by promises of a 30 minute meal. She takes her time. When she makes dinner, everyone crowds around the table and gets cozy. We know from a lifetime of experience – it’s gonna be good!

Enchilada Dish

1 lb. ground beef

1 large onion, diced

salt, pepper, and garlic powder

1 can diced green chilies

1 can enchilada sauce

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 can cream of chicken soup

1/2 cup- 1 cup milk

tortilla chips

shredded cheddar cheese (to your liking, I use about 2 cups)

Brown ground beef in large skillet. Add onions and green chilies and continue to cook until onions are translucent.

Stir in enchilada sauce, cream of mushroom, cream of chicken, and milk. (Add enough milk to make creamy, but not runny).

Spread a layer of tortilla chips in a baking dish. Sprinkle half of the cheese over the chips. Pour the skillet mixture over the chips, then layer with remaining cheese.

Heat in a 350° oven until cheese is melted and bubbly. Serve with extra tortilla chips.

One Response to “Enchilada Dish”

  1. HEATHER SKINNER Says:

    im so gonna try this out! looks easy and delicious!

Leave a Reply

