Sour Cream Pound Cake Cupcakes (with blue vanilla buttercream)

A couple of weeks ago my husband, Jasper, and I were convinced there was a rosy-cheeked baby girl in my tummy.

So convinced that we had slowly accumulated a closet brimming full of frilly, cutesy, little girl things.

We went for our 20-week sonogram to confirm our little pink suspicions. And there on the screen were, well, let’s just politely call them  ‘little boy parts’. The full anatomy was completely visible and wholly in-tact. There was no mistaking.

Summoning every ounce of self-control I had not to burst into a river of tears, I laughed nervously (and loudly) through the remainder of the appointment. I spent the rest of the day attempting to keep it together and repeating the mantra “We are just happy it’s healthy” with a fake smile plastered to my face.

It’s not that I don’t like little boys. I was just so sure we were dealing with sugar and spice and everything nice. How could I be wrong about a living being growing in my womb? How could my body betray me this way? I know nothing about tractors or trucks or bugs or ‘frogs and snails and puppy dog’s tails’. And I’m really not a fan of dirt.

So, I made it through the day. And finally got home. And to bed. And my husband went to sleep. And I quietly pulled the quilt over my head and cried until morning.

And, then surprisingly, I woke up totally, fully, utterly over it. Excited even… A boy.

A sweet, fresh-faced, innocent, giggly, little baby boy that is soon to be the center of our life. His name is to be Graham. To say I can’t wait to meet him is a gross understatement.

A few nights later, we were driving home from a friend’s house and Jasper and I were singing in the car and Graham started fluttering. Fluttering a lot. I stopped singing and he stopped his moving. I began singing again and he fluttered around wildly again. Jasper and I laughed and continued this ‘sing-song-stop’ with little Graham playing along all the way home. We took the long way.  This amazing first interaction made for the most marvelous drive of our life.

So I decided to celebrate this exciting new gift in the way that makes the most sense to me.

Cake.

Cupcakes.

Sour Cream Pound Cake Cupcakes stuffed with Vanilla Cheesecake Mousse and Vanilla Buttercream icing, tinted blue, with jade colored sparkly sprinkles, to be exact.

If this baby is half as sweet as these cupcakes… I’m a goner.

Sour Cream Pound Cake Cupcakes


18 cupcakes

1/2 cup butter, softened

1/2 (8oz.) block cream cheese, softened

2 cups sugar

4 large eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 (8 oz.) container sour cream

Preheat oven to 350°. Beat butter and cream cheese until creamy. Beat in sugar until fluffy. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition. Add vanilla.

Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Gradually add to creamed butter mixture alternately with sour cream, beating until well blended. Spoon batter into lightly greased muffin tins.

Bake for about 15 minutes, or until wooden pick comes out clean. Cool completely.

Vanilla Cheesecake Mousse

2 cups heavy cream

8 Tbs. powdered sugar

8 oz. block cream cheese, softened

8 oz. white chocolate candy melts, melted

1/2 tsp. shortening

1 vanilla bean scraped, or 1 tsp. vanilla

pinch of salt

Beat cream until soft peaks form. Stir in powdered sugar.

Beat cream cheese until fluffy. Add melted white chocolate candy, vanilla, and salt. Beat again.

Fold whipped cream into cream cheese mixture.

To fill cupcake: Cut an inverted cone shape out of the top of the cupcake. Pull out cone and saw off the cone shape, leaving only the top circle. Fill hollowed cupcake with mousse mixture. Top with circle.

Vanilla Buttercream

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 small (3 oz.) package cream cheese, softened

2 tsp. vanilla

1 (16oz.) package powdered sugar

3-4 Tbs. milk

Beat butter, cream cheese, and vanilla until creamy.

Add powdered sugar and milk (to desired thickness and consistency) until smooth.

I read this recipe from Joy the Baker recently and decided I’ll give this buttercream recipe a try next time…

Vanilla Whipped Buttercream Frosting with Rose Water

makes enough to fill and frost one 8-inch layer cake or frost 24 cupcakes

from Organic and Chic

2 sticks (1 cup) organic unsalted butter, softened

1 cup organic cane sugar

1 cup organic whole milk

1/4 cup sifted organic all-purpose flour

1 1/2 tablespoons organic vanilla extract

1 teaspoon rosewater

Cream the butter on medium speed, 3 to 5 minutes, in a stand mixer, or with a hand mixer until soft, adout 30 seconds.  Add the sugar and beat on high speed until light and fluffy, 5 to 7 minutes.  Stop the mixer occasionally to scrape down the sides of the bowl and beat again.

In a small saucepan, combine 1/4 cup mil with the flour and vanilla extract.  Whisk together until there are no lumps.  Over medium heat, slowly add the remaining 3/4 cups milk, whisking constantly and cook until the mixture comes to a low boil.

Reduce the heat to low and continue mixing until the mixture starts to thicken slightly.

When the mixture starts to thicken, immediately remove the pan from the heat but keep stirring.  After you have removed the pan from the heat, the mixture will continue to cook for a minute or two on its own.

If you overheat the mixture and find that you have some lumps, try to whisk them out with a little elbow grease, or pass the mixture through a fine mesh strainer.  Allow the mixture to cool to room temperature.  Place the mixture in the freezer for a few minutes to speed up the process.

With the mixer on low speed, slowly pour the milk mixture into the butter and sugar mixture.  Increase the speed to medium and beat until the frosting is light and fluffy, about 3 to 5 minutes.  Add the rose water during this final mixing.

2 Responses to “Sour Cream Pound Cake Cupcakes (with blue vanilla buttercream)”

  1. Stacia Becher Says:

    Oh Autumn,

    I completely understand what you went through. I felt the same way when I found out I was having a girl. I so wanted a boy first. However, I couldn’t imagine anything better than my little girl. You will feel the same too. Im so happy you feel so happy now. Its going to be amazingly wonderful when he is born.

    I love the name Graham. Its perfect, just like he will be.

    Congrats!!

    Oh and I can’t wait to try this recipe. YUM!!! Eat one for me. =)

    XOXOXO
    Stacia B.

  2. Lori Says:

    Oh Autumn,
    The thrills of a baby boy are unbelieveable. I know there’s no way to know this until you have one….but you can trust what I’m telling you!
    Nothing can steal your heart quicker than a hand-written scribble, resembling a Valentine from a rosy-cheeked little boy, exclaiming, “Mommy, I love you!”
    I’m so excited for the both of you. You are going to ADORE being a mom!

Leave a Reply

